Workleap user provisioning makes it easy to integrate your Google Workspace organization into Workleap.
Once integrated, Workleap pulls the following data from Google every day and updates your account accordingly:
Added and removed users (including contractors and temporary employees).
First names, last names, emails, profile pictures, and job titles.
Note: You must be an Administrator in both Workleap and your Google Workspace organization to link your accounts.
Note: You can only have one active user provisioning integration at a time in Workleap.
Set up a Google Workspace integration
To set up a Google Workspace integration:
Open Settings and select Provisioning from the side menu.
Select Connect next to Google.
Select Connect to your Google organization.
Enter the requested authentication info to connect to your Google organization.
Be sure to accept the requested permissions to Workleap when asked.
The time it takes to establish a connection varies greatly depending on your organization's size.
When the connection between Workleap and Google is established, you'll be taken to the integration configuration page.
Important: To sync your Google Workspace data, you must give Workleap access to the following scopes when asked while setting up a connection:
View domain user schemas.
View domains related to your customers.
View group subscriptions on your domain.
View domain groups.
See domain user info.
Configure a Google Workspace integration
See the sections below to configure your integration. When finished, select Save to save your choices, then select Turn on daily sync if your integration isn't syncing yet. Your saved configurations will apply to the next daily sync with Workleap.
Tip: Don't want to wait? To start a sync immediately, select Start the sync now in the Your next sync is scheduled message.
You're connected to Google
Here, you can see that your Google integration is connected and whether daily syncing is turned on or off. If you want to disconnect your Google integration, select the trashcan icon. You can also select Reconnect or replace Google organization to reconnect or to change the active Google organization.
Note: Disconnecting a Google integration won't remove any user data already in your Workleap account. However, your saved configurations are deleted, so you'll need to set them up again if you reconnect.
Choose users to import
Filter by group membership
Everyone in my Google organization - If selected, all active users in your Google Workspace are synced daily with Workleap. Suspended users are not imported.
Everyone in the following Google groups - If selected, all users from the specified Google groups are synced daily with Workleap. To specify a Google group, start typing the group's name in the text box and select it from the drop-down list that appears.
Important: Workleap only imports users who belong to your Google Workspace principal (primary) domain. Users from secondary or alias domains are not included in the sync.
Additional toggles
Clean up manually-added members - If enabled, only removes manually-added members who are also missing from your integration source.
Once users are created, automatically invite them to join Workleap
Configure property mapping
Map your Workleap properties with Google fields to keep everything in sync.
Default properties
Two recommended properties are premapped to Google fields:
Hire date.
Direct manager.
Both are switched off until you turn on the Sync switch next to them. You can also select a different Google field or switch the sync off again. Once a property is synced, it can no longer be edited manually in Workleap. User names, email addresses, job titles, and profile pictures are synced for every user and do not appear in this table.
Important: The manager set on a user's Google Workspace profile determines their Direct Manager in Workleap when the Direct manager sync is turned on. Direct Managers affect Pingboard org chart layout and manage Performance reviews for their direct reports.
Note: If a user's manager is removed in Google Workspace, the user's Direct Manager is also removed in Workleap during the next daily sync.
Note: Google Workspace does not have a dedicated hire date field. By default, Hire date is mapped to the user's Google account creation date, which may not reflect their actual hire date.
Custom properties
Select the drop-down in the left column to select a Google field to map to a Workleap custom property in the right column. Activate the sync toggle to set a mapping between the two.
Note: Workleap custom properties only appear in the property mapping interface if you have already created them on the Properties page.
Note: To map user phone numbers from your Google Workspace, you must create and map a custom property from Google.
Map your teams
Activate the toggle to map your Google groups to your Workleap teams. When you map a Google group to a team, users from the selected group(s) will automatically be added to or removed from that team in the next daily sync.
To map a group to a team, select the drop-down in the Google Workspace group column and start typing the desired group's name. When it appears, select the group from the list.
Note: You can map multiple Google groups to the same Workleap team.
Sync history and reports
The Sync history page lets you track all user provisioning syncs from your integration and review their status and detailed reports. Learn more about sync reports and exports in Sync history and reports.
Will my users get a notification?
Activating a user provisioning integration won't cause Workleap to send any notifications to your users. However, if you've turned on automatic invites, all users created through the daily sync will get a Workleap invitation email as usual.
